The 1888 Bohemian Schoolhouse
The 1888 Bohemian Schoolhouse.
Bohemians began settling in Racine County in the 1840s; by the 1880s their children were growing up American, speaking English and attending area schools. Wanting to teach their children their native language, songs and culture, the Bohemians decided to build a school that their children attended on Saturdays.
The 1888 Schoolhouse historical marker.
For nearly 30 years Bohemian children had the opportunity to attend school six days a week! By the 1920s interest in the Saturday School had dwindled, and it was discontinued.
Restored in the 1970s by the Junior League of Racine, the Schoolhouse is now owned and operated by Racine Heritage Museum.
Living History Program
Designed to meet fourth grade curriculum requirements, this two-hour immersion experience is available on a flexible schedule to accommodate school schedules. Special arrangements can be made for other ages and groups. Reservations are required.
The number 1888 above the front door to the schoolhouse.
Real 1880s Schoolhouse experiences include:
- Learning how children in the late1800s were expected to behave
- Reading with (reproduction) McGuffy Readers
- Playing ante-ante-over
- Outhouses (no running water onsite)
Located on the corner of 5 Mile Road and Highway 31 in Caledonia Township, Racine County, Wisconsin. Programs are available during the months of April, May, June, September and October. For more information on the schoolhouse or to make a reservation for an upcoming program please call the Racine Heritage Museum at (262)-636-3926.